Delia Day

I have been reminded lately about the tragic life of Delia Day aka Susan Anton. I have spent a fair while going over old stuff, seeing her beautiful face on old pictures and of course her hauntingly beautiful art work. And she was hauntingly beautiful.

I remember feeling envy at the life she lead.  The fact she was so totally owned and her submission was so complete took my breath away.  Little did any of us realise that her Delia Day persona was, most probably, her husband Travis.   The writings were eloquent and touching.  The pictures he took of her, while extreme, were perceived to be of a slave, happy in her complete ownership.  It was her complete and utter dependence on him that touched me the most.  This had been the way I had craved to live. Completely dependant on one person. My owner. I just never found the right one to live that life. I had been married to a complete control freak but it felt different. I was dependant on him to an extent but there was no ownership, there was no real love. there was just insecurity on both sides. He controlled me through fear of his own insecurities, not mine.  He doesn’t count.

Delia was the ideal that many of us in the lifestyle held up as some one to aspire to.  If indeed it was Travis that was the Delia Day persona then her touching renditions of their daily life were false and she sadly must have endured many years of abuse at his hand.

She touched so many of us.  I miss her and I hope that she is happy now and had the help she needed to overcome all that she must have suffered.  I hear she is married which brings hope that she has moved on and getting on with her life.  Maybe one day she will come back and tell us what happened, but she doesn’t owe us that.  She owes us, her audience, nothing.

5 thoughts on “Delia Day

  1. Wow! I never considered that those journals were his and not hers! You are right of course, if that is true she must have been more a captive than a submissive, and deserved to be freed and given her life in a better way than what happened. The writings providing a strange comfort when I read them and I search from time to time to see if she has come back to writing. Perhaps they seemed right because they were from a man’s ideal of what he wanted a woman to think, to be, and not the reality of the relationship. It seemed to match my fantasies so perfectly of a submissive woman, it makes more sense that that would be true.

  2. Possibly one day I will be able to write. I’ve seen much hatred and inaccuracies spewed in other places over the years, so I wanted at the very least to send a thanks to you here for wishing me well…. 🙂
    “Thank You”

Leave a comment